Posted in blog, dealing with loss, devastation, dog, pet, picture a day, post a day

Devastation

This post is difficult for me even now. The first thing that came to my mind was my dog, Twister. 

I remember it very clearly. I was living in Erie at the time and had just gotten back from visiting my Mom. My Mom, brother and I all knew he wasn’t doing well. He layed in one spot for the entire weekend I visited. Didn’t move, didn’t eat. The whole process was draining for everyone. More so him. 

I had just gotten home and told my ex what was going on and let him know that his lack of emotion killed me even though I understood. 

I got a call from my Mom and already knew what was coming, I answered the phone and didn’t say a word, tears already running down my cheeks. Once she said the words out loud I broke down. 

“Twister died today.” 

I remember getting up from our bed and walking away, holding as much in for as long as I could until I got to the bathroom. Closing the door, I put my back against it and slid to the floor letting every shred of emotion come out and lay at my feet. 

Some people may not understand a loss of a pet but once you give that many years to anything the only appropriate response you’ll have is to break down, I promise. 

Don’t ever think that you won’t lose someone or something. Everyday has the potential of being a “last day”.

(Photos taken by Author)

Author:

Drowning minds & sketching fingers.

Leave a Reply

