Posted in beauty, body confidence, life, makeup, moods, motivation, positivity, self esteem, thoughts, women

Recognizing Beauty. 

I, like most people, have self esteem issues. If anyone were willing to listen I could probably draw up a PowerPoint about all my flaws. 

One of my goals for this year is to recognize beauty in myself regardless of my mood. This has been a struggle for me for years. One day I feel grotesque, the next I think, well, I’m not bad. The thing that I don’t realize when I have these thoughts is that I look the same as I did when I thought I was grotesque so, what the hell?

The event that brought this post on would be the last 2 hours that I took to prepare for an interview today. I straightened my hair, curled my hair, put on clothes, changed said clothes. Put on makeup, messed up said makeup because I’m in no way a beauty guru, wiped off the makeup. It was a never ending cycle. 

I know for a fact that I’m not the only woman that looks in the mirror and sighs. 

“I wish I was thinner.”

“I wish my hair was different.”

“God, I hate acne.” (Okay, this one I totally get considering my continuous face demons.) 

I think regardless of these thoughts every woman should be able to look at themselves and smile. 

You shouldn’t have to waste an entire morning trying to get your hair to cooperate. You shouldn’t have to cake on makeup to cover your eye bags. 

Yes, I understand it’s not flattering but you’re not the only one with these “flaws.” You shouldn’t think badly about yourself while holding a microscope up to all the things that you think aren’t attractive because believe it or not, they are. 

Your eye bags show that you work hard, that’s attractive. 

Your scars show that you’ve had experiences, that’s attractive. 

Your crooked teeth are cute. Your crazy curls are beautiful, the list could really go on and on. 

Basically, try to take this advice from me and tell yourself you’re beautiful. Say it however many times you need. Scream it, cry it. Do what you need to do until you believe it. 

Author:

Drowning minds & sketching fingers.

2 thoughts on “Recognizing Beauty. 

  1. I completely know what this feels like…I think every girl does. The best thing about this post is that it is a clear insight to what we go through every day to look a certain way, so that we feel a certain way…It can be so exhausting. You are beautiful! You are talented! You are smart! that should be enough, but society does not give us that right of passage. We put so much pressure on ourselves and it takes years to be comfortable with who you are underneath the hair extensions, make up, jewelry…etc. I love this post and thank you for sharing! Keep in touch!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

