Posted in 2017, advice, blog, blog topics, health, life, moods, post a day, thoughts

Anxiety in Numbers.

I know alot of people struggle with anxiety and because of that I wanted to offer some advice that works for me. 

I usually feel anxiety during every day situations. Making phone calls(odd that I’m currently working in a call center type job as of Tuesday), going into larger stores or things even as simple as getting out of my car when I arrive where ever I need to be. 

There are 3 things that I usually try to get through these situations and i hope 1 or all of these can help someone else that struggles with anxiety. 

1. Relate to Your Surroundings.

I know that most of the reason I feel anxious is because of being in a situation that I’m not used to or comfortable with. The first thing that helps me is finding something relatable in these uncomfortable situations. This can be as complicated as a person or an object or as simple as a color or shape. 

For instance, you walk into a new place and the first thing you see is a clock, if you can relate to it, focus on it. Or if someone speaks like a friend or relative, focus on them/talk to them. Look for anything that would make you more comfortable. 

2. Comfort in Numbers. 

The next thing that works for me is counting on my fingers. You don’t have to be obvious about this and hold your hand up and count your fingers out loud but it still makes a difference. Hold your hand at your side and tap your thumb against your other 4 fingers keeping count up to 4. I don’t know if you’ve ever used or heard the phrase “take it 10 seconds at a time” but this is basically the same thing. It keeps your mind distracted by preoccupying your hands and head and before you know it the situation will be over or you’ll feel more calm about being in that situation. 

3. Mental Ipod. 

Sing to yourself. Simple as that. Pick your favorite song/songs and replay them in your head. Focus on the words and the music in the background. One main part of my anxiety is being too focused on what’s causing the anxiety and this clears my head without actually clearing my head. This can also be considered a relatable coping skill. 

I hope these ideas can help someone that has been reading my blogs or is a new reader. 

If you feel that there is anything I missed, advice of your own or success stories if you’ve tried any of these anxiety coping skills please feel free to comment. 
Featured image from Quotes to Inspire

Author:

Drowning minds & sketching fingers.

Leave a Reply

