Posted in 2017, accountable, blog, blog topics, processed food, raw vegan, vegan, veganism, weight

Raw Vegan vs. Cooked/Processed.

About a week ago I wrote a blog about trying out a raw vegan diet. I didn’t think that when I started this I would see any type of result but I was wrong. 

To start at the basics and to explain what I was eating during each meal I’ll explain that the first 10 days I ate nothing except for fruit, veggies, nuts and water. Apples, bananas, oranges, peaches, pears, spinach, kale, peanuts, cashews etc. 

During that time I felt amazing. I slept better, felt physically better, used the bathroom regularly and even saw my face starting to clear up. I also had a pretty substantial amount of energy which I never expected in just 10 days of eating raw vegan. 

I will say this, I obviously didn’t experience any weightloss but I don’t see losing weight being an issue on this diet because everything felt in sync, plus I actually wanted to eat what was in front of me. I wasn’t just eating to fill a hole in my stomach.

Then I decided to turn it into a test and the last 3 days I’ve been eating what I would before while still trying to keep water the only thing that I drank. An example of this would be chicken patties with parmesean noodles, peanut butter sandwiches on white bread and even splurged today with banana pudding out of a box. 

Now, here’s the difference. Physically, I feel like shit. I have not been using the bathroom regularly and I constantly have a dry taste in my mouth. Not only that but no matter what or how much I eat out of this extremely common regular diet, I’m STILL hungry. The weirdest part though? Oddly enough, water doesn’t taste as good to me now. It’s as if my body knows that somethings up considering my drink of choice with my meals used to be Mountain Dew which has a HUGE amount of sugar. 

From my perspective I 100% prefer a raw food diet. Although it may not be something I can do constantly just because of my lack of creativity in preparing raw food but I want to incorporate it in my life as much as possible. Even if that means as cheat meal every few weeks until I can get the hang of it. 

Photo from ThatSugarFilm  which includes more information about this topic.

Author:

Drowning minds & sketching fingers.

2 thoughts on “Raw Vegan vs. Cooked/Processed.

Leave a Reply

